For more information, contact:
Beate Wright
Executive Director
(202) 570-5320
The Water Research Foundation Seeks Nominations for the 19th Annual Paul L. Busch Award
(Alexandria, VA) May 23, 2019 — The Paul L. Busch Award recognizes an individual for innovative research in the field of water quality and the water environment, with a special focus on those who show promise and make significant contributions in bridging research and its practical application. As one of the largest awards in the water quality industry, the Paul L. Busch Award enables researchers, engineers, and others on the verge of making significant breakthroughs to continue their work, deliver products essential to the preservation of the environment, and share their knowledge with the next generation of water quality researchers.

The award, which carries with it a $100,000 research grant, is presented each year to an individual who is performing scientific research or engineering work that breaks new ground to deliver products of vital importance to the water environment. The Paul L. Busch Award recognizes individuals that are making discoveries that result in transformational changes in how we use and manage water.

Since 2000, the Endowment for Innovation in Applied Water Quality Research has awarded $1,800,000 in research funding to some the best minds in the field and furthered the research on such critical issues as energy recovery, wastewater-derived chemical contaminants, enhanced biological phosphorus removal, and advanced biotechnology treatment processes/technologies protecting human and environmental health. The Endowment honors Paul L. Busch, Ph.D., a leader in the water quality community who challenged engineers and scientists to devise new technologies and solutions to address ongoing water quality issues, as well as those of the future. Dr. Busch believed in education and devoted his time mentoring and promoting the next generation of environmental engineers.

“The list of Paul L. Busch Award winners includes a diverse group of widely recognized international leaders in water research. We are eager to see this year’s nominations for this prestigious recognition!”, notes Peter Grevatt, WRF’s Chief Executive Officer.

The Endowment is accepting applications for the 2019 Paul L. Busch Award. Applications must be received by June 1, 2019. All submissions should be sent to the Water Research Foundation, Attn: The Paul L. Busch Award, 1199 North Fairfax Street, Suite 900 Alexandria, VA 22314 or can be emailed to Additional information and application guidelines can be found by visiting the Water Research Foundation website.
About WRF
Water Research Foundation (WRF) is the leading not-for-profit research cooperative that advances the science of water to protect public health and the environment. Governed by utilities, WRF delivers scientifically sound research solutions and knowledge to serve our subscribers and stakeholders in all areas of drinking water, wastewater, stormwater, and reuse. Learn more at or