Annual WRF Awards

WERF Awards

Each year, The Water Research Foundation recognizes individuals and organizations whose efforts have significantly contributed to water quality research and its practical application in the environment. Through research grants and promotion, these awards seek to highlight the scientific breakthroughs that are advancing the water sector and to encourage the development of future innovations.

The Paul L. Busch Award
The WRF Endowment recognizes innovation in applied water quality research through the Paul L. Busch Award, which distinguishes an outstanding and innovative, early- to mid-career individual for research in the field of water quality and the water environment. Individuals who show promise and make significant contributions to bridge research and its practical application are eligible to submit applications or be nominated for this award. The winner will be recognized and rewarded with a $100,000 grant to continue their body of work, take risks, and potentially explore new directions and benefits.
[[Paul_L_Busch_Award|Full Award Details]]

Past Awards


The WERF Award for Excellence in Innovation recognized organizations that made marked improvements in wastewater or stormwater collection, storage or treatment operations, and/or facilities or processes using WERF research findings. The award was presented annually at WEFTEC up until 2015.

Past Award Winners

City of Fort Worth Village Creek Water Reclamation Facility (2015)
Sacramento Regional County Sanitation District (2014)
Metropolitan Wastewater Reclamation District (2013)
San Antonio Water System (2012)
City of Los Angeles Biosolids Resource Management Program